University GameJam takes place online for 2020 edition

The University of Portsmouth GameJam is a week-long event where CCI Faculty Staff, Students, Alumni and Professionals come along and try to make a game during normal office hours. This year, the event was run online due to the pandemic, and the uncertainty related to this.


The 2020 edition of the GameJam took place between 15-19 June, hosting close to 100 students in 30 teams. They were tasked to develop games based on one of the following themes: 1999 Saskatchewan Scott Tournament of Hearts, Bockhampton, Berkshire or Jillian Banfield. The event was run completely on the online Discord platform, led by Clifford Phillips, Technician in the School of Creative Technologies, along with fellow staff members Richard Milbourne, Paul Nelson, Luke Robertson and Neil Dansey.


On the last day of the GameJam, industry judges from Supermassive Games,, and Apache, plus two of our CCI games experts Theresa Bassey-Effiok and Toni Atanasova, individually tested the 30 games. This was followed by the closing ceremony live on Twitch, where the jury handed out awards for the best games in a number of categories.


Team Incredibogs, winners of Best Game Design and People’s Choice are all first-year students from the Computer Games Technology course and thoroughly enjoyed taking part in the Gamejam.

Still from the ‘Brewstone’ game by Incredibogs


  • Best Adaptation of the Theme: Team Long Neck Fellas (Luis Venceslau, Sam Hunt, Tiernan McCarthy, Viktor Janpaulis)
    • Honourable Mention: Squadward (Prisha Gellaboina, Owain Thomas, Brad Atkins, Ricky James, Lucy Adams)
  • Best Use of Technology: Teamimuz (Joshua Edwards, Emma Winters)
    • Honourable Mention: Team Firewire (Mantas Ruigys, Teodor Sava, Patrycja Poczkai, Connor O’Brien)
  • Best Engagement with Themes of Diversity and Inclusivity: Team Penhale Games (Mikolaj Brzuchalski, Alex Jarrett)
    • Honourable Mention: Infinite Vertex (Stephen Smith, Ben Lavender, Alexander Terry, Ollie Plaatsman, Erin Somervail, Siddhesh Swamy) and Squadward
  • Most Ambitious Idea: Remote Tarantulas (Marin Mitev, Oliver Thauerer, Teodora Petkova, Daniel Dimitrov)
    • Honourable Mention: Ubihard (Cameron Millar, Ben Darby, Dean Harris)
  • Best Looking Game: Eldritch Screaming (Ellis Carter, Boyan Dimitrov, Mathew Pembleton, Benedict Targett)
  • Best Audio: Numbskull Studios (Curtis Hall, James Kelly, Joshua Ybanez, Michael Burdge, Ryan Evans, Stefan Plamenov Yordanov, William Leggatt, Joshua Westmore)
  • Best Game Design: Incredibogs (Kian Bennett, Vic Primmer, Elliot Jermy, Emily Everett)
  • Best Overall Game Joint Winners: Incredibogs and Eldritch Screaming
    • Honourable Mention: Burgundy Moonlight (Matthew Johnson, Harrison Gowland)
  • People’s Choice: Incredibogs
  • Most Helpful Person: Joe Shanahan


Joe Shanahan is an alumnus from the BSc (Hons) Computer Games Technology course and has been taking part in the GameJam for a few years consecutively and has even collected some award from previous editions. Last year he helped the competition by welcoming Amy Elliot who was just under the required age of 18, but she was able to with assistance from Joe and the Fareham staff who attended. Since then, Amy has participated in other such challenges with Joe, and this year she is due to start the CGT course, therefore mapping the journey that our CT staff hope would happen with other college-age students.